Egg Cappuccino

Did I tell you that I love Mark Sisson? I love the whole Primal concept, especially since I had great success with Atkins back in the early 2000s and discovered that the whole protein and fat concept really work for me.

I’m not a Primal dieter (as you have figured out by my recipes), but I do read Sisson’s newsletter faithfully, and always find them interesting. One of the reasons I like him so much is that he listens to his critics and gives account of why something is so or not without sounding defensive. He seems always willing to check something out.

Another reason I like him so much is his lack of dogmatism. I think he realizes that it has to be about what works for people, not about being dogmatic. Of course, he’s pretty firm on what’s primal and what’s not, but I got a kick out of his newsletter about Primal Egg Coffee last week where he spends a paragraph anticipating the kickback from some of his constituents because he put a teaspoon of sugar in his coffee.

I’m sure I take too many liberties too often in my diet (which is why I’m losing so slowly), but I like a guy who can say a teaspoon  of sugar two or three times a week is not going to kill anybody.

People used to be aghast when eating breakfast out together somewhere; they would see me sprinkling sugar on my pancakes (obviously I wasn’t dieting at the time – this was years ago). But it showed me that people often don’t apply common sense in what they do. Believe me, there is far less sugar in a couple of packets of table sugar than there is in a quarter cup of pancake syrup. So, no, a couple of teaspoons a week won’t hurt you.

I use liquid Stevia in 98% of everything I want sweetened, and I’m looking forward to trying powdered Stevia in my baking.

Anyway, I digress. The real excitement I want to share with you is my Egg Cappuccino, my own version, combining Primal Egg Coffee and Bulletproof coffee. After reading about both of these, I decided to experiment, and I am ecstatic about the results.

So here’s my Egg Cappuccino. (This is the ideal recipe)

8 oz brewed coffee (organic, fair trade)

1 organic egg

1 T. organic, grass-fed butter (melted) (You can also use 1 T of coconut oil, or 1/2 T of each. I’ve not tried it with coconut oil alone.)

Stevia to taste

It’s great warm, cool, or iced. I’ve used freshly brewed, hot coffee; I’ve used leftover coffee, and I’ve used cooled coffee and poured the whole concoction over ice. I loved it all three ways. In the morning, I prefer it freshly brewed and hot. Of course, I use a regular drip pot, so it’s not super-heated. I suppose that might cook the egg.

The egg acts as an emulsifier (keeps everything from separating), and makes it nice and foamy, like cappuccino.

Sisson recommends adding a pinch of salt; the Bulletproof Exec says, “Ick! No salt.” He uses unsalted butter. I used to make “cowboy coffee” and you always added a pinch of salt to that, so I use salted butter.

The funny thing is that I had been looking for a creamer substitute for years. I got into making one with coconut milk for awhile, but I got tired of that, and I wasn’t too keen on the canned coconut milk thing. I’ve tried almond milk (both Dark chocolate, vanilla, unsweetened), coconut cream, I’ve even tried yogurt! But it never occurred to me to try butter. Of course, I tried making it just with butter, and I didn’t care for that. So that’s why I didn’t go with either recipe exclusively — I couldn’t imagine using 3 yolks per cup as Mark does. If I were as active as he is, perhaps, but this is also about budget for me as it is anything.

Cappuccino

Cappuccino (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My normal routine has been to have 2 cups of coffee a day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. Sometimes I have my Egg Cappuccino in the morning, and then a regular, black cup in the afternoon, or I have my concoction for both. It depends on how much protein and fat my evening meal will contain.

This has been great for me. I’m tired of making smoothies—it seems I’m often missing some good ingredient or another, but I always have eggs and butter on hand. As I told early on in this blog, I’ve been consuming raw eggs for thirty years. In the old days, I used to use any store-bought eggs without worrying, but in the past 10 years, I have far greater concerns over the way chickens are raised and handled commercially, so I only consume local or organic eggs raw. (I rarely buy anything else–I go without rather than buy regular, commercial eggs.)

So try this if you’re a coffee, latte, or cappuccino consumer, and let me know what you think! Who needs Starbucks? 😉

Leave a Reply

