At the 9 Week Point: What I’ve Learned & Where I Will Go From Here

(Written on 7/19, published on 7/22)

Less than 30 days to go.

  1. Intermittent Fasting and High Interval Intensity Training break insulin resistance.
  2. You can eat pretty much anything you cook at home (except for sugar and non-fructose corn syrup laden products) and remain healthy.
  3. For optimal health, however, you need to optimize the nutrition of every meal.
  4. Eating everything within a 6 hour period every day completely does away with hunger within 48 hours, and it never comes back unless you start stretching out your eating beyond 6-8 hours. (Providing, again, you are excluding all sugars and processed white carbs.)
  5. Doing the HIIT a couple of times a week keeps you healthy (keeps blood sugar/blood pressure, etc. within normal range), but if you want to lose weight, it requires at least 5 times a week. Doing it just twice a week regulated my blood sugar and blood pressure, and I dropped some weight and gained muscle. To actually make my target weight will require discipline on my part.
  6. You don’t have to be dogmatic about the HIIT. My high intensity intervals are as much as I can comfortably withstand. I had a client who was going all out, and it was making him so weak he could barely get off the bike afterwards. That’s not necessary.

What I Suspect:

The insulin resistance will come back if you stop the IF or the HIIT. Figure out a way to make them a permanent part of your lifestyle.

New Habits I Will Develop

I’ve never been good at self-discipline, but that’s the last time I’m going to say that. The majority of people aren’t terribly self-disciplined. I just need to create habits that then become disciplines. It is said that it takes 3 weeks (21 days to make something a habit)

Today (July 22, 2013) I will begin doing HIIT Monday – Friday. I will check my progress on forming this habit on Monday, August 12th.

This is the pep-talk I needed

I read several articles on “getting discipline.” This is the one I needed to read, especially the section entitled “Give Yourself a Lobotomy.”

 

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Leave a Reply

