5 Steps that Got My Health on Track

1. Did a cleanse from Candida albicans overgrowth.  (See article below)

2. Stopped taking antibiotics for everything. (I used herbal supplements and probiotics)

3. Stopped getting flu shots

4. Cleaned up my diet (ceased all wheat, dairy, and sugar for a very long time)

5. Started doing resistance exercise

 

You see that cover picture of the mushrooms? Kinda cool, eh? Until you imagine those mushrooms growing inside your stomach, crowding out everything you need to keep you healthy, and growing and growing until they start perforating the lining of your stomach. Hmmm…not so cool, eh? That’s a good metaphor for Candida overgrowth. Same principal exactly.

Let’s talk more about Candida overgrowth and how I treated it. The Chinese have had it right for millennia – all health begins in the gut. And so does all dis-ease. The truth of the matter is that the majority of illnesses today can be traced to what we’re eating. I hyphenated the word disease so that you can see it for what it is. When my gut is in the right condition, I am at ease. When it is not, I brook dis-ease. The typical American diet combined with the relentlessly frenetic lifestyle results in chronic illness.

I read a quote recently in an excellent article that was discussing whether or not the highly touted Mediterranean diet works. The blogger said that she highly suspected that it works for Mediterraneans who don’t live the stressful lifestyle that we do. There is much to be said for that.

I digress. There are plenty of websites out there that give long lists of symptoms associated with it: major fatigue, low energy, chronic yeast infections, foggy headedness, exhaustion. The list goes on and on. I didn’t have to exhibit all of them to know that I had it.

There are as many ways to cleanse oneself of Candida as there are websites out there about it. Therefore, I will only tell you the way I did it. Once Candida overgrowth goes fungal, that’s when the problems set in. Before I did this cleanse, I literally hit a wall every day in early evening. I felt like I couldn’t move one more inch. Anything I needed to or was required to do brought an angry response from me. My whole life was managed around getting things done before the wall came up.

My younger son couldn’t understand how his mother turned from a slightly frustrated, irritable person by day to a raging, seething monster every night.

I read and read on Candida overgrowth until I got the concept. I was poor then and couldn’t afford some fancy preparation that I could buy online or get from a health food store. So I did it the cheaper, long way, which may be better, and certainly is more gentle. Fungal die-off in a hurry is no picnic, I assure you, and one can become ill with flu-like symptoms for several days.

I took a month to do it, but I could see a little progress every day, which was why I kept up with it. I have never since had such a problem with my energy level. In fact, for a 58 year old sedentary woman, I have an excellent energy level, far greater than many people my age.

My method was to use garlic. Garlic is one of the greatest anti-fungals out there. That’s why it is legendary for keeping vampires away – it raises your (immune) defenses. Now, I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to hot foods, so I wasn’t brave enough to pop fresh garlic cloves and chew them up every day. (Although I have on occasion.) That was when I discovered Kyolic garlic supplements. They are a trusted source of standardized garlic and one of the most effective garlic supplements out there.

I really wish I had known about intermittent fasting then; it would have been so much easier.

First, before I started the cleanse, I completely stopped consuming any what I call “white” carbs – refined carbs like sugar and flour, and got rid of all the yeast products in my diet (like bread, especially). I also had to let go of things like honey or fruit because one really need to starve him or herself of sugar, and of course high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) was an absolute no-no.

When I started the cleanse, I took up to a dozen capsules of garlic a day and drank as much water as I could get down. I had to drink and drink and drink because I had to flush out that fungal overgrowth or it would have made me sick. It fights back! I wish I had known about Intermittent Fasting back then; I could have spared myself humongous sugar cravings when the Candida’s livelihood was threatend. Like any other dying organism, it wants to live, so it begs for its number one need to stay alive: sugar in any form.

There will be a lot of gas, explosive stools, nausea, and more for a few days. This is why I said in an earlier post that it’s really best, if one is working, to start this over a long weekend. That way you can just focus on what is going on with your body and rest and drink, rest and drink water only.

If you want to plan to start this on the next three day weekend, then start doing the Intermittent Fasting (IF) now, and food eliminations as you go. Is this a diet? No! This is a remedy for what ailed me, and it worked. I did this for a month. After the first week, the big rush of die-off was done, and I started feeling better and was motivated to stick with it.

After the second week of the cleanse, I started adding fermented dairy. It would have been best to have raw, unpasteurized dairy and make my own fermented products such as yogurt and kefir, but a good, organic source of yogurt or kefir will suffice. I could have used a liquid probiotic, but again, I was trying to do this on the cheap, so I just used yogurt with live bacteria and none of the sugared or fruited stuff. It has to be plain. Again, liquid Stevia is my friend for sweetening; although now I have come to appreciate the flavor of plain yogurt, and I substitute it for sour cream, use it to dress many dishes, and even leaven cakes with it.

 

Photo courtesy of Flicker Photo Sharing

One thought on “5 Steps that Got My Health on Track

  1. Pingback: 10 IF Secrets Every Woman Should Know | The Un-Diet 90 Day Weight Loss Challenge

Leave a Reply

