Upping the #Protein Ante

I don’t use protein powders, first of all because they’re usually not organic, and I don’t trust the whey source, and second because I really can’t afford them.

So I’ve been slowly upping the ante on the protein. A couple of days ago I added a raw, organic egg to the mix, and today I upped it a bit more by adding a heaping tablespoon of organic peanut butter.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup of base liquid (almond or coconut milk, coconut water, or whatever you use).
1/2 organic apple with peel
1/8 c dry, unsweetened coconut
1 raw organic egg
1 T organic peanut butter (Arrowhead Mills is my favorite)

Blend and serve in tall glass.

Offers 10 – 11 g of protein depending on which base you use.

For a discussion on using raw eggs, go here

Photo courtesy of vanillaechoes and FreeDigitalPhotos.com

Leave a Reply

