Foolproof Crockpot Beans

This is now my method (thanks to TechnoCrone) of making beans. I used pinquitos (small red beans) this time, and tossed in some large chunks of onion.

Hillbilly Fusion

I’d be lost without my crockpots. I have three, in different sizes, and every one of them is well-used and well-loved. If you don’t have a crockpot, aka slow cooker, run to your nearest Big Lots and get one. They’re not very expensive, usually around $20, and you’ll get plenty of use out of it.

I’ve never used a pressure cooker. My mother had a phobia about pressure cookers, and I think I inherited it; I’ve always been just a little bit afraid of them. So I use my crockpots, fearlessly.

One of my favorite things to cook in the crockpot is dried beans. I use a lot of beans, for soups, refried beans (frijoles refritos), enchiladas, vegetarian burgers, all kinds of things. Beans have been a staple in my kitchen since I was a young bride. They’re inexpensive, filling, and nutritious, high in fiber and protein, low in fat…

View original post 505 more words

One thought on “Foolproof Crockpot Beans

  1. Pingback: 3 can crockpot chili | G.I. Crockpot

Leave a Reply

