Day 4 – 7 Lies About Saturated Fats

One of the reasons I am so good at figuring things out about my body is that I am very in tune with my body in a healthy way. Well, when I choose to be. I’ve had many years full of stress and hurry when I was not nearly as in tune as I would like to have been, which is why I’m fat. Anyway, I could give you many examples of how I am in tune with my body probably more than the average person, but this post is already long enough as it is.

The point is that I woke up in the middle of the night, very pleased to feel thermogenesis going on in my body. It is evidenced by a strong heat–one that’s different from regular digestion–it’s kind of a tingly burning heat. Well, it’s tough to explain, but it’s just different that’s all. I guess if you try my method, you’ll experience it, too. That tells me that what I’m doing (the intermittent fasting and the HIIT) is working. If you’re not familiar with the concept of dietary-induced thermogenesis, let me give you this quote from LiveStrong:

Diet-induced thermogenesis is the process by which energy is expended during digesting, absorbing and metabolizing the food you consume. Basically, thermogenesis is the number of calories burned when the body breaks down the food you eat. The main components contributing to diet-induced thermogenesis include the number of calories contained in the food you consume and the quality of the contents of those foods, according to a 2004 review study published by “Nutrition and Metabolism.”
Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/469048-define-dietary-induced-thermogenesis/#ixzz2TmIsDUXK

Anyway, I am very excited about it. It’s one of those little evidences that one is “on the right track” that keeps us motivated. Another good day today, even though I’m having pizza for dinner. No, not something I ordered in or bought from the frozen section in the store. Something home-made from organic ingredients. I make one pizza the size of my pizza stone, and my partner and I split it. That’s what I said, this is the UnDiet. I’m not telling you how to eat; I’m telling you how I eat.

Now, having said that, let me get to the crux of the headline. I have mentioned more than once my habit of having a smoothie most mornings with coconut and coconut oil. You might think, “Why all the coconut?” This is a little something I put together from many different articles. I have given you many references and links, but I have not documented all my sources. None of this is original. If there are things that I haven’t referenced that you would like to know more about, just Google it, or if you just can’t find it, feel free to email me and I will help you out.

7 Lies about Saturated Fats

  • All saturated fat is bad for you.
    To quote Dr. Mercola, “all saturated fats are not created equal,” “created” being the operative word. Manipulated saturated fats such as hydrogenated fats and oil, trans fats, are the culprit. Naturally occurring saturated oils are not harmful to the body.
  • Coconut oil is saturated and is very harmful.
    According to nutritioncentre.co.uk, “A lot of the studies that were done in the 1960′s where coconut oil was labeled as unhealthy were done on hydrogenated coconut oil and not the Virgin Coconut Oil that we recommend. Therefore these studies found hydrogenated coconut oil to be full of artery clogging saturated fats. Hydrogenated fats are now closely linked with heart disease. However Virgin Coconut Oil is rich in essential fatty acids, also known as your “good fats” which doctors and nutritionist[s] highly recommend. Virgin Coconut Oil is also cholesterol and trans-fat free.”
  • Saturated fat makes you fat.
    In the 1940′s farmers tried coconut oil to fatten their animals but discovered that it made them lean and active instead.
  • Saturated fat clogs arteries.
  • Saturated fat leads to high cholesterol.
  • Saturated fat promotes heart disease.
    I can deal with these three things together. The most recent research is that a diet high in red meat (and not because of its associated fat), sugar, processed foods, unsaturated fats and refined carbohydrates like white bread, is what is really responsible for bad cholesterol, and poor heart and artery health. (Dr. Mercola)
  • All un-saturated fats are beneficial.
    Along with what I cite below about artery clogging oils, even olive oil, which is one of the best out there should only be used in dressings — not to cook with. The cooking with unsaturated fats causes them to oxidize which is what produces the artery-clogging effects.
  • Vegetable oils are always better than any saturated fat.
    When researchers sampled the crusted, nasty arterial plaque exhibited by people with heart disease and arteriosclerosis, they were surprised to find that the majority of it was rancid vegetable oils.

I was going to distill information for you on the benefits of coconut oil, but, in looking for sources, I ran across this article, which is exactly what I would have said, so I’ll just link you to it instead. http://zentofitness.com/the-benefits-of-coconut-oil-water-flesh/
Then, if you are interested in an exhaustive list of the benefits of coconut and coconut oil, go here: http://www.coconutresearchcenter.org/

There are two natural sources of saturated vegetable fat: coconut oil, palm oil, and palm kernel oil, all of which have been hydrogenated (manipulated) and wrongly demonized over the past 50 years. But only one of them comes from a truly sustainable source, and that is coconut oil. Palm oils have become popular in gourmet cooking. It is strong-tasting oil with an acquired taste. The problem is that the methods being used to acquire the Palm oils, are ecologically unsound and therefore not sustainable.

I will discuss red meat and refined carbohydrates in another post. I think you’ll be surprised at what you learn.

Until tomorrow, “Keep on keepin’ on.” I am.

Photo courtesy of Suat Eman & FreeDigitalPhoto.com

Leave a Reply

