Day 3 – Of Telomeres and Coralbells

Today was good. I did my warm-up exercise with my resistance bands, which is always good to get me going. I gained a repetition in my HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training), doing 5 repetitions today instead of the 4 I did on Thursday. It felt good. Then to round out the 30 minutes, I went walking down across the creek and through the pasture. I waved at the deer in the next pasture over who watched me with great interest. I was scolded by a red-winged blackbird whose creekside bath I interrupted, so I didn’t stay long. It was right at dusk, and the animal kingdom seems very active at that time.

I don’t remember where I read it. I tried googling it just now but couldn’t find it, about how seeing green all around you lengthens one’s telomeres thus increasing health and longevity. It’s why I moved here. Any window or door that I look out of from my house, I see green. I make it a habit to sit outside for at least an hour every day, or just wander about the yard, checking on all the new lovely blooming summer surprises.

Today, I was delighted to find tiny sprays of pink bell-shaped blossoms popping up all over in this glorious silver white foliage with a green edge. I thought the foliage was stunning in itself as I’ve watched it grow all spring from the tiniest little leaves, but to see the blossoms coming on was an extra treat. I believe they are coralbells, except that of all the varieties I saw in Google images, none of them were quite the same as mine. I’ll see if I can remember to take a picture to post tomorrow as it’s getting too dark now.

Eating went well, too. I was hungry by 10:30 this morning, so I started out with a few crackers and 3 or 4 tablespoons of peanut butter. I followed that with a banana since I’m trying to keep up my potassium. That satisfied me very well until about 3:30 wherein I cooked some previously frozen wild caught salmon and made us a big spinach salad with English cucumber and homemade creamy dressing (mine was flavored with pesto) topped with a little cheddar cheese. That filled me up just fine.

I tried something different this time with the salmon, I coated it with egg and panko and seared it skin side down in a hot skillet then turned it over, lowered the heat a notch, covered the skillet and allowed it to cook for three minutes. It was decent, but I think I’ll go back to marinating next time. It’s kind of sucky when wild caught salmon tastes like canned. In fact, it tasted a lot like the “salmon patties” my grandmother used to make when I was growing up. I loved them, but this made for really expensive salmon patties.

I love wild caught tuna even more. I stole the idea for my tuna preparation from the Cup Café in Tucson, Arizona which is in the old Hotel Congress (yes, of Dillinger fame). I marinate tuna steaks in olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and then dredge it in sesame seeds (blue sesame when I can find it), then sear it in a hot skillet for 3 minutes on each side. It’s great seared on a grill, too, although I might dispense with the sesame seed dredge, simply reserving some to sprinkle over when it comes off the grill. I then top with a nice mound of green onions and serve. Voila! Nearly effortless gourmet.

I was pleased that dinner was very satisfying—so much so that I wasn’t even bothered when my partner made up his big batch of buttery, cheesy popcorn this evening.

So, I’m pleased that the intermittent fasting is going so well, and that the exercise is coming along as well. I’ve decided I’m not going to weigh myself until July 1st when I have a doctor’s appointment. That will be almost perfectly at the halfway point. Until then, I’ll just keep on, building up to the 8 sets of HIIT reps on the bike. I need to set a date when I will do my full 24 hour fast, perhaps on the 30th or 31st of May. So, my friends, TTFN.

Photo is my own of backyard overlooking pasture.

Leave a Reply

