Undoing the Great Diet Hoax, or Why the Un-Diet?

Note: This page remains static to introduce new readers to what I’m doing. If you’ve been here before, proceed on to Daily Posts.

My weight hasn’t changed an iota in 3 or 4 years, despite detoxes, cleanses, going to the gym, and radically changing my diet. Today I am 5’5″ tall, and I weigh in at 223 pounds.

In 2010, I started a whole new dietary lifestyle, completely changing everything I ate, according to all the new wisdom. I eliminated sugar, wheat, most starchy carbs — no rice, no pasta, no potatoes. I also started eating completely organic. I had no scale, so I just went by the way I felt. I wasn’t hungry and I felt fabulous. After a year, my partner and I went to the doctor for our annual physicals. I was so excited to see how much weight we had lost (we don’t have a scale at home). We both came out dazed. He had lost 30 pounds on the new regime, and he wasn’t overweight to begin with. On the other hand, I had not lost a single ounce! I nearly cried. There was no difference in our activity level, in fact if anything, I was more active than he was, but I do know there is a difference in our basal metabolism.

I’ve started this post now three different times. I was going to go into the history of everything I had tried and what worked and what didn’t. But ya know, that’s just history and none of it is helping me a bit. It’s certainly not for lack of knowledge or lack of trying. I have continued to research these past two years, and yesterday, I had an Aha! moment.

Since I’m a writer by trade, I often don’t know what I think till I write it down. It sounds funny, but it’s true.  I was doing some supplement research on branched chain amino acids (BCAAs) as a diet supplement for a client who was looking for a new way to lose belly fat. After I finished the research and decided the BCAAs really are not the panacea they are touted to be, I gave him a treatise on all that I had learned on weight loss and made specific recommendations. Once I finished the report and sent it off, I realized that I had given him a perfect formula for weight loss that I knew beyond the shadow of a doubt would work, otherwise I wouldn’t have recommended it to a client. Yet I hadn’t done it myself! Finally! I inspired myself for once.

So, I’ started today, and I’m calling it the Un-Diet. Why the Un-Diet? Because I’m not going to change anything about WHAT I eat, only WHEN I eat. And I’m going to exercise in the way that I can stick with — me, the sedentary one who hates gyms with a passion, hates any “program,” who has never stuck with an exercise routine since I was in my 20’s.

Every day, to keep myself accountable, I’m going to talk about what I did, and how it’s going. Now that could get pretty boring, so I will take a different topic every day and tell you why, at 58, my hunger is controlled, I have a great energy level, I’m no longer depressed, and I haven’t been sick with a cold or flu for 13 years. I’ve even begun to live a lifestyle that I have sought for more than 20 years. My weight is my last hurdle to my health and wellbeing, and I’m on my way to resolving that, too.

Why just 90 days? I certainly know I can’t make my goal weight in 90 days, but I will be thrilled as long as it is lower than 223 because that has been my set point for too many years. And with what I’ve learned in 90 days, I will ramp up this blog, and I’ll do something really special for my readers.

Read on, take the first step to Day 1.

Illustration courtesy of Africa and FreeDigitalPhoto.com

Leave a Reply

